Profile Informations

Login Datas

or login

First name is required!
Last name is required!
First name is not valid!
Last name is not valid!
This is not an email address!
Email address is required!
This email is already registered!
Password is required!
Enter a valid password!
Please enter 6 or more characters!
Please enter 16 or less characters!
Passwords are not same!
Terms and Conditions are required!
Email or Password is wrong!



This information provides you with a quick overview of the quality factors to keep under control when buying a diamond. It will help you understand what makes a diamond perfect for you and find the most suitable for any occasion.


The first step in this path is how to verify the certification of the diamond. The certificate of a diamond is its "identity card", the proof that the diamond has been properly analyzed and cataloged by a team of professional gemologists.
The diamonds selected by ALESSIA COSTA GIOIELLI are certified by the three veryrespected independent laboratories: IGI (International Gemmological Institute), GIA (Gemmological Institute of America) and HRD Antwerp ( HRD Antwerp Institute of Gemmology).

diamonds igi

All certified diamonds are classified according to four main characteristics (cut, color, clarity, and carat weight) and other features such as table, crown, diameter, depth, etc. The following paragraphs explain these characteristics.


The cut of the diamond is one of the most important characteristic, because it determines its luster and shine. If properly cut, diamond will perfectly reflect light that enters from the top, making it refract within itself.


In the certificate of the diamond, the cut will be ranked on a scale ranging from excellent or very good to poor.
Diamonds can be cut into different shapes.
The most common form of cut of the diamond is round, called brilliant. This term identifies a round cut with 57 facets minimum. The large diffusion of this cut has led to a misconception: the public tends to identify the terms brilliant and diamond as if they were the same thing. In fact, the term brilliant, if used alone, uniquely identifies a precious stone in round cut.

There are many other gemstones which can be cut as brilliant, such as rubies, sapphires and topazes. Other types of cutting, among the most famous and popular are: cutting at heart, oval brilliant, marquise, cushion, emerald, drip, ascher.
Other newer cuts are slowly emerging in the field of jewelry, like princess and radiant.

diamonds cuts


Diamonds can take almost all the colors, which are due to impurities or structural defects. It should be noted that colorless diamonds do not appear to the eye, as the facets reflect the colors of the surrounding environment; as for other colorless gems, by moving the diamond we can see the color change rapidly (this effect, very intense in diamonds, is called "spirit" or "fire").
>Diamonds are graded according to the presence or absence of color. The scale used is from A (best) to Z (worst).
Diamonds with colors D, E and F are colorless, those with G, H are almost colorless and guarantee high quality.

diamonds colour


The degree of purity of a diamond is determined by the size of the impurities included in the stone.
There is a scale of values to define the imperfections, so as to be able to characterize the diamond: from IF to P3.

diamonds clarity

IF indicates a pure stone, VVS1/VVS2 indicates a stone with small impurities, not visible to the naked eye and visible only with a lens of 10 magnifications, VS1/VS2 indicates a stone with small impurities that are not visible to the naked eye.
The purity of the diamond is one of the essential characteristics to be considered, in fact, the greater the imperfections within the diamond, the lower the light and brilliance that will be released from the stone. The purest diamonds are also the rarest.


The carat is a measure of weight, not size. Two diamonds with the same carat weight, but different cutting may appear in two different dimensions. One carat measure 0,20 grams and hundredths of a carat are called points. The price of a diamond is not proportional to its weight, considering that the larger is a diamond the more expensive it will be.

diamonds weight


The natural colored diamonds are known as fancy diamonds. Only one diamond in 10,000 possesses a natural color and is referred to as fancy diamond. These diamonds are cut differently than white diamonds to accentuate their natural color.
The intensity of the color is the most important feature for a fancy diamond: the more the color is intense, the more the diamond is rare and expensive. In nature there are diamonds of all colors: pink, blue, red, yellow, black, green, etc. Red is the rarest color and therefore the most expensive.

fancy diamonds

© 2018 Alessia Costa Gioielli - PIVA 10906080014. All Rights Reserved.